Skip to main content

Dallastown clinches YAIAA tennis title

Show Caption

The preseason favorite Dallastown boys' tennis team repeated as YAIAA Division I champions, securing the title with Wednesday's 5-0 sweep at South Western.

Holden Koons, the defending District 3 Class 3A singles champ, led the way with a 6-0, 6-0 win at No. 1 singles while Hunter Jones and Jonathan Burns also won in singles action, dropping only three games between them.

The Dallastown doubles teams of David Trimmer and Nicholas Istvanic, and Tyler Lilie and Logan Maddox picked up straight-set wins.

Dallastown currently holds the top spot in the District 3 Class 3A power rankings.

The Wildcats weren't the only YAIAA team to clinch a title Wednesday: Littlestown clinched at least a share of the Division II title with a 5-0 sweep of Biglerville.

The host Thunderbolts built off of last year's 10-4 season to move closer to their first outright title since 1989. They can clinch it with a win in their final divisional match of the season, a home match against Susquehannock on Wednesday.

Brett Gill, Noah DeCampo and Ryan Appleton each picked up straight-set wins in singles, while Jared Braswell teamed with Simon Sauvageau and Kyle Tober teamed with Jason Anderson to win doubles matches in straight sets.

Littlestown is currently ranked No. 4 in the District 3 Class 2A power rankings.