Skip to main content YAIAA girls' track and field all-stars for 2015

Athlete of the Year

Lynne Mooradian

Lynne Mooradian, South Western, jr.: For the second straight year, Mooradian won four gold medals at the YAIAA championships. She followed up by reaching the PIAA meet in all three events she participated in at districts.

And she won two medals at the state meet.

Mooradian comes from a military family and is considering a similar path after high school. She marched through the league with titles in the 100-, 200- and 400-meter runs for a second straight year while also adding the 300 hurdles to her repertoire. Mooradian picked up the hurdles last summer while prepping for the decathlon. She wound up earning a sixth-place medal in that event at the state meet.

"Learning the event, it was similar to the 400 and how I ran it," Mooradian said after her PIAA performance. "I thought it was easier because you always have the hurdles to focus on."

She also picked up an eighth-place medal in the 100 during states at Shippensburg.

All-Star Spotlight Q&A with Athlete of the Year Lynne Mooradian

Click here to explore the complete spring all-star series

Vote for Spring Athlete of the Year

First-team all-stars

Alexis Baublitz

Kirstyn Evans

Taylor Forrester

Amari Johnson

Grace Riedel

Madi Smith

Joel Jacobs

Haven Evans

Maddie Ferner

Hannah Glover

Ayanna Johnson

Bre Smith

Erin Wilson

Alexis Baublitz, Central York, jr.: Baublitz set the school vaulting record early in the season and added to it, culminating with an 11-6 mark at the district meet. Baublitz qualified for the state championships in Class AAA as a first-year vaulter.

Haven Evans, Dallastown, so.: In the 100, Evans finished second to Mooradian at the league meet and also reached the medal stand in the 200 and 1,600 relay. That relay squad, which included seniors Emma Kange and Amari Johnson along with sophomore Taylor Forrester, broke the Dallastown record with a run of 4 minutes, 1.1 seconds at the District 3 championships.

Kirstyn Evans, York County Tech, jr.: A 2014 PIAA qualifier in the high jump, Evans secured YAIAA gold for the first time this year. Her best jump of the season was 5-6. She also competed in the triple and long jumps.

Maddie Ferner, Kennard-Dale. jr.: After missing her sophomore season because of a soccer injury, Ferner claimed YAIAA gold in the 3,200 and owned the top regular-season time in the 1,600 (5:11.41). Ferner withdrew from the 1,600 at the league meet to improve her 2-mile run. It paid with a state berth.

Taylor Forrester, Dallastown, so.: The YAIAA champion in the 100 hurdles, Forrester had three top-two finishes at the league meet. On top of a gold medal with the 1,600 relay team, she finished second to South Western's Mooradian in the 300 hurdles. Forrester also participated in the triple jump.

Hannah Glover, South Western, sr.: Glover won YAIAA gold with a top throw of 115-4. She placed 11th the next week in Class AAA at Shippensburg.

Amari Johnson, Dallastown, sr.: Anchoring that 1,600 relay for Dallastown, Johnson also qualified for the state meet in the 400 while running for the first time since her freshman season. Johnson also medaled at the YAIAA championships in the 100 (third place) and 400 (second). She will play Division I college basketball at the University of Rhode Island.

Ayanna Johnson, New Oxford, jr.: A versatile campaign was on display at the league meet, where Johnson won gold in the triple jump (33-7 3/4) and finished third in the long jump and fourth in the 100. She set her season bests in the triple jump and 100 (12.77) at the YAIAA championships.

Grace Riedel, Delone Catholic, sr.: A league title and school record (both coming at 11-6) highlight Riedel's pole vault accomplishments with the Squirettes. She reached the PIAA championships and will vault for Messiah College.

Bre Smith, Littlestown, jr.: The YAIAA's only District 3 girls' champion, Smith claimed gold in the Class AA discus with a winning toss of 109-5. That mark was 4 inches better than her silver-medal performance a week earlier at the league championships.

Madi Smith, New Oxford, so.: A first-year javelin thrower, Smith secured the school record early in the season. She developed a knack for finishing far ahead of her seed. She was seeded 17th in the district but finished fifth, and then beat her No. 13 seed by placing second in the state. Only national record-holder Madison Wiltrout, another sophomore, of Connellsville beat Smith for a PIAA title.

Erin Wilson, Central York, jr.: A league champion in the 1,600, Wilson also ran down league silver medals in the 800 and as part of the Panthers' 1,600 relay team. Those types of efforts were pivotal in Central earning a three-team share of the YAIAA Division I title. She also qualified for the state meet in the 800.

Coach of the Year

Joel Jacobs, Eastern York: The Golden Knights won their first division title since 2009 and produced three league champions in Maddison Nalls (800), Ashley Kerr (shot put) and their 3,200 relay team. Freshman Maura DeRemer also placed second in the javelin.

Eastern secured the YAIAA Division II title in a winner-take-all last meet of the season at Gettysburg, 92-58. It was the seventh division title for Jacobs, a 20-year coach who improved his overall record to 127-24-1.

Honorable mention

Maura DeRemer, Eastern York

D'Shanna Edwards, York County Tech

Gabby Emeigh, Bermudian Springs

Ashley Kerr, Eastern York

Kate Mowrey, Delone Catholic

Maddison Nalls, Eastern York

Cierra Phillips, Fairfield

Maddie Small, Delone Catholic

Brianna Wanbaugh, Red Lion