Skip to main content

Rudisill, Burke highlight scholarships winners

Show Caption

A total of 12 graduating student-athletes from Adams County have earned scholarships for their good sportsmanship. 

This year's Gretchen Wolf Swartz Sportsmanship Awards have been awarded to seven seniors from the New Oxford boys' basketball program and five from the Biglerville girls' basketball program. The top winners are New Oxford's Zach Rudisill and Biglerville's Liz Burke, who were both awarded $20,000 scholarships. 

The Gretchen Wolf Swartz Sportsmanship Awards are awarded every year to students from the two York-Adams basketball programs that local referees feel best exemplify sportsmanship and respectable behavior throughout the season. 


A reserve for the Colonials this past season, Rudisill will be attending Lebanon Valley College. He was also a member of the New Oxford baseball team. Burke was Biglerville's top player this season finished ninth in the league in scoring at 13.1 points per game. She will be attending Ursinus College. 

The other scholarship winners from New Oxford are Trevor Floyd ($15,000), Israel Collazo ($10,000) Ben Lehman ($5,000), Jordin Brown ($1,000), Tanner Myers ($1,000) and Brandon Pritchard ($1,000). The additional winners from Biglerville are Allison Sowers ($15,000), Madeline D. Kuhn ($10,000), Elizabeth Shreve ($5,000) and Courtney Taylor ($1,000). In total, $104,000 in scholarship money has been awarded to the 12 graduating seniors. 

More on the award: Sportsmanship pays — literally — in scholarship (column)

More basketball: South Western soccer coach Wilcox takes basketball job

The winners are determined by the Gretchen Wolf Swartz Scholarship Fund's board of directors, which interviews the senior candidates from both programs after they submit applications. The board of directors determines which students are awarded the different sums of money.