Skip to main content

2017 YAIAA baseball coaches all-stars released

Show Caption

The 2017 YAIAA baseball coaches all-star teams were released Monday. Here is a rundown of each divisions player of the year.

Division I: Joe Capobianco, Dallastown

Capobianco, a senior, hit .367 with a home run and 19 RBIs out of the cleanup spot for the Division I, YAIAA and District 3 champions. The second baseman was instrumental in leading Dallastown to the PIAA Class 6A Championship game.

Division II: Zach Gettys, West York

Gettys, a senior, helped lead the Bulldogs to a share of the Division II title and PIAA tournament berth, going 8-0 with a 1.36 ERA in the regular season. He racked up 76 strikeouts in 51 innings of work while hitting .477 with a home run and 14 RBIs as West York's leadoff hitter.

Division III: Ben Stewart, Kennard-Dale

Stewart, a senior, was outstanding for the Rams going 7-1 on the mound with a 0.94 ERA and 32 strikeouts and only seven walks in 52 innings. He hit .392 with two home runs and 17 RBIs in leading the Rams to the PIAA Class 4A tournament.

Division IV: Dylan Hippensteel, York Catholic

Hippensteel, a senior, hit .415 with 14 runs scored for the Division IV champion Fighting Irish. 

Here is a list of the remaining YAIAA coaches all-stars.

Division I

Pitchers: Alex Weakland, Dallastown. Landon Ness, Central York.

Infielders: Tye Golden, Dallastown. Trevor Bean, South Western. Buzz Schuchart, Spring Grove. Logan Miller, Spring Grove

Catcher: Bryant Holtzapple, Dallastown

Outfielder: Peter Capobianco, Dallastown. Jonathan Sager, Spring Grove. Mike Reisinger, Central York.

Utility/DH: Cole Delp, Red Lion.

Coach of the Year: Greg Kinneman, Dallastown.

Honorable Mention: Cam Sterner, Spring Grove. Connor Dewees, Red Lion. Logan Miller, Spring Grove. Tyler Stabley, Red Lion. Jake Gates, Dallastown. Brody Neveker, New Oxford. Sean Redding, Dallastown.

Division II

Pitchers: Zach Gettys, West York. Josh Topper, Gettysburg.

Infielders: Ethan Ketterman, Gettysburg. Zach Ketterman, Gettysburg. Ryan Shindler, Northeastern. Wil Fetrow, Dover.

Catcher: David Buxton, Gettysburg

Outfielder: Michael Tempel, Gettysburg. Andrew Chronister, Dover. Colton Kubicki, West York.

Utility/DH: Carson Holsinger, York Suburban.

Coach of the Year: Scott Erickson, West York.

Honorable Mention: Shane Haffner, Dover. Zach Altland, Dover. Trevor Staub, Dover. Logan Carbaugh, Gettysburg. Alex Raymond, Northeastern. Robbie Elzinga, Northeastern. Anthony Kahley, West York. Justin Wetzel, West York.

Division III

Pitchers: Conor Miller, Susquehannock. Brandon Knarr, Eastern York.

Infielders: Joey Thomas, Kennard-Dale. Bren Taylor, Eastern York. Tyler Reinert, Bermudian Springs. Chase Summers, Susquehannock.

Catcher: Garrett Lowe, Kennard-Dale.

Outfielder: Peyton Reider, Susquehannock. Jacob Owings, Littlestown. Tyler Groft, Bermudian Springs.

Utility/DH: Alex DeHass, Littlestown.

Coach of the Year: Blake Knecht, Kennard-Dale.

Honorable Mention: Russell Livesay, Littlestown. Ben Trego, Susquehannock. Ben Lowe, Kennard-Dale. Emmitt Silar, Eastern York. Hunter Sentz, Susquehannock.

Division IV

Pitchers: Ben Bretzman, Biglerville. Ethan Slusser, Delone Catholic.

Infielders: Dylan Hippensteel, York Catholic. Hunter Martz, Hanover. Will Catterall, York Catholic. Juan Lopez, York County Tech.

Catcher: Nicholas Wright, Biglerville.

Outfielder: Bryce Floyd, York Catholic. Darian Mort, Fairfield. Chase Long, Biglerville.

Utility/DH: Luke Greisler, York County Tech.

Coach of the Year: Delone Catholic & York County Tech.

Rookie of the Year: Nicholas Wright, Biglerville

Honorable Mention: Shane Kecken, Delone Catholic. Nathan Chronister, York County Tech. Wes DePorter, Delone Catholic. Noah Ayers, Biglerville. Brandon Miller, Biglerville. Cody Pfaff, Delone Catholic. AJ Zeak, Delone Catholic. Luke Kordaz, York Catholic.