Spring Grove's Nick Erickson, Dallastown's Tessa Myers and York Suburban's Emma Leik were named recipients of the Quarterback Club of York's annual scholarships, the group announced this week.

Also, the group announced its YAIAA Players of the Year: Dallastown's Jacob Jansen in Division I, York Suburban's Thomas Merkle in Division II and Hanover's Kyle Krout in Division III.

All six athletes will be honored at the Quarterback Club of York Awards Banquet, scheduled for Feb. 8 at San Carlos in York.

Erickson, a senior running back for the Rockets, received the Charles Larson Memorial Scholarship, which awards $1,000 for four years for a total of $4,000.

Myers, a Dallastown girls' volleyball player, received the "Sandy" Kranich Memorial Scholarship, and Suburban cross country runner Leik received the Thomas V. Chatman Jr. Memorial Scholarship. Each of those is for a $1,000 grant award.

The awards banquet begins with a social hour at 6 p.m. and dinner at 7 p.m., followed by the awards presentation. The guest speaker will be Tom Peifer, head coach of the 2015 Red Land Little League team that won the U.S. championship at the Little League World Series.

Tickets to the awards banquet cost $35. Checks can be made payable to Quarterback Club of York should be mailed to Mr. Gary Onrdorff, 2381 Hartford Road, York, PA 17402. Deadline is Jan. 31.

Read or Share this story: