Skip to main content

Dist. 3-AAA wrestling: Local pairings announced

Franklin County will send 17 wrestlers to the District 3 Class AAA Championships on Friday and Saturday at Hersheypark Arena.

That number is up two from before after a pair of fourth-place finishers at the Section I Tournament - Chambersburg's Cole Grove at 132 pounds (21-13) and Waynesboro's Patrick ZImmerer at 160 (22-11) - were added to field. Their weight class was rated highest among the five sectionals.

Shippensburg's Cameron Tinner (29-0) was slotted into the No. 1 position at 220 pounds. Three other area wrestlers were placed in the No. 2 line - Chandler Olson of Ship (31-1) at 126, Garrett Kyner of Chambersburg (30-5) at 138 and Chambersburg's Drew Peck (32-4) at 182.

Elliott Swink of Waynesboro may have drawn the toughest preliminary round assignment, facing Austin DeSanto of Exeter Twp. (43-0) at 120. Zimmerer landed into a match with Penn Manor's Jonah Barley (31-0).

The preliminary round begins Friday at 3:15 p.m., and Saturday's first session starts at 10:15. The finals are slated to begin at 2:15, which is considerably earlier than in previous years.

District 3 Wrestling Championships

Area Pairings


106 — Seth Runshaw (Chambersburg), 26-11, vs. Matthew Rodriguez (Dover), 19-8; winner vs. winner of Josiah Gehr (Cocalico), 33-2, vs. Sheldon Peiffer (Solonco), 12-9.

113 — Spencer Runshaw (Chambersburg), 26-7, vs. Cameron Miller (Kennard-Dale), 24-6; winner vs. winner of Ryan Watts (Exeter Twp.), 26-13, vs. Cameron Terry (Ephrata), 31-10. Laken Rouzer (Waynesboro), 27-9, vs. Samuel Zummo (Daniel Boone), 23-14; winner vs. winner of Brandon Miller (Penn Manor), 17-9, vs. Chris Wright (Central Dauphin), 37-6.

120 — Elliott Swink (Waynesboro), 26-12, vs. Austin DeSanto (Exeter Twp.), 43-0; winner vs. winner of Dalton Dougherty (Dallastown), 21-10, vs. Josh McLaughlin (Cedar Cliff), 28-9.

126 — Chandler Olson (Shippensburg), 31-1, vs. Christian Schilling (Garden Spot), 27-15; winner vs. winner of Grayson Charles (Solanco), 23-11, vs. Derek Wilson (South Western), 25-5. Aaron Rump (Chambersburg), 29-8, vs. James Harkness (Exeter Twp.), 34-9; winner vs. winner of Tyshawn White (Central Dauphin), 42-0, vs. Jose Perez (Manheim Twp.), 11-15.

132 — Cole Grove (Chambersburg), 21-13, vs. Andrew Wert (Central Dauphin), 35-9; winner vs. winner of Brock Lieberman (Warwick), 24-14, vs. Tyler Wilkes (Wilson), 24-11.

138 — Garrett Kyner (Chambersburg), 30-5, vs. Orion Musti (Central York), 22-13; winner vs. winner of Owen Powell (Daniel Boone), 33-4, vs. Ben Hershey (Warwick), 29-10.

145 — Cody Frey (Waynesboro), 25-10, vs. Matthew Danner (East Pennsboro), 32-4; winner vs. winner of Trevor Fichthorn (Cocalico), 35-6, vs. Dylan Chatterton (Central York), 29-1. Drake Brenize (Chambersburg), 23-13, vs. Victor Kenderdine (Manheim Twp.), 22-2; winner vs. winner of Chase Mueller (Gettysburg), 23-6, vs. Tyler Marburger (Garden Spot), 33-6.

152 — Colin Runshaw (Chambersburg), 21-15, vs. Skitch Light (Central Dauphin), 36-8; winner vs. winner of Tyler Davis (Reading), 28-6, vs. Barry Breidegan (Cedar Crest), 33-1.

160 — Patrick Zimmerer (Waynesboro), 22-11, vs. Jonah Barley (Penn Manor), 31-0; winner vs. winner of Max Martin (Cocalico), 22-15, vs. Drake Pew (Dallastown), 26-4.

182 — Drew Peck (Chambersburg), 32-4, vs. Abdul Saad (Cocalico), 28-10; winner vs. winner of Jared Barley (Spring Grove), 20-12, vs. Jarell Howard-Griffin (Cedar Crest), 20-2. Aiden Smith (Waynesboro), 19-6, vs. Isaiah Dickson (Central York), 26-5; winner vs. winner of Palmer Rodenhaber (Red Land), 15-7, vs. Jake Kelly (Lampeter-Strasburg), 24-6.

195 — Cole Forrester (Shippensburg), 28-7, vs. Devin Evans (Susquehanna Twp.), 18-4; winner vs. winner of Thomas Weidman (Conestoga Valley), 20-18, vs. Bryce Shields (Dallastown), 26-1.

220 — Cameron Tinner (Shippensburg), 29-0, vs. Dalton Smith (New Oxford), 24-12; winner vs. winner of Evan Clark (Warwick), 24-10, vs. Jon Greenleaf (Exeter Twp.), 27-13.

285 — Shawn Robinson (Waynesboro), 13-9, vs. Isaac Schannauer (Wilson), 13-3; winner vs. winner of Michael Wolfgram (Central York), 25-8, vs. Evan Childs (Central Dauphin), 27-6.