Skip to main content

Chambersburg softball sweeps Commonwealth honors

Two Franklin County first-year head coaches earned Mid Penn Conference Coach of the Year honors in their respective divisions. Chambersburg coach Chris Skultety earned the top coaching honor in the Commonwealth Division, joined by his top hitter and relief pitcher Leah Hunt, who claimed Player of the Year in the Commonwealth.,

Waynesboro's Aaron Burke, another first-year head coach, claimed the top coaching honor in the Colonial Division. Greencastle-Antrim's Ally Brown was named Player of the Year in the Colonial.

Chambersburg's Tara Harmon and Greencastle's Jess Root each earned first team nods in the Commonwealth and Colonial divisions, respectfully. Shippensburg's Courtney Coy and Morgan Fetter, Waynesboro's Nicole Kreimer and Katie Wise and James Buchanan's Taryn Miller and Jenna Mongold also earned Colonial first team honors.

Second team honors for Chambersburg include Dori Loukopoulos and Laken Myers, while Caeley Etter and Sam Bender earned an honorable mention.

The Colonial Division saw six second-team honors from Franklin County, including Greencastle's Morgan Wagaman and Alicen Hoover, Waynesboro's Jenna Powell and Chelsea Cover, James Buchanan's Nina Shatzer and Shippensburg's Sami Barmont.

Alison Shockey of Greencastle, Brooke Pittman from James Buchanan, Shippensburg's Ashley Macedo and Waynesboro's Tiffany Stull were Colonial Division honorable mentions.

Mid Penn Conference All-Stars


First team

Chambersburg: Tara Harmon; State College: Alyssa Shedlock; Central Dauphin: Alex Cunkle, Macy Koontz; Mifflin County: Hannah Ruby; Carlisle: Mackenzie Weary; Cumberland Valley: Katie Eingert, Shelby Mumma; Red Land: Madi Christiansen.

Second team

Chambersburg: Dori Loukopoulos, Laken Myers; State College: Kayla Hawbaker; Mifflin County: Darcy Wilson, Taylor McKay; Carlisle: Hannah Sehurn; Cumberland Valley: Alison Noga; Red Land: Taylor Artley; Cedar Cliff: Tiffany White.

Honorable Mention

Chambersburg: Caeley Etter; Sam Bender; State College; Hannah Shields; Central Dauphin: Samantha Gress, Nicole Bechtel; Carlisle: Cayla Abbey; Mifflin County: Maddie Smspacker.

Player of the Year: Leah Hunt, Chambesrburg

Coach of the Year: Chris Skultety, Chambersburg


First team

Shippensburg: Morgan Fetter, Courtney Coy; James Buchanan: Taryn Miller, Jenna Mongold; Greencastle-Antrim: Jess Root; Waynesboro: Nicole Kreimer, Katie Wise; Big Spring: Brooklyn Wagner; Boiling Springs: Shayanne Kimmel.

Second team 

Greencastle-Antrim: Morgan Wagaman, Alicen Hoover; Waynesboro: Jenna Powell, Chelsea Cover; James Buchanan: Nina Shatzer; Shippensburg: Sami Barmont, Big Spring: Mikala Gutshall, Michayla Roberts.

Honorable mention

Greencastle-Antrim: Alison Shockey, James Buchanan: Brooke Pittman; Shippensburg: Ashley Macedo; Waynesboro: Tiffany Stull; Boiling Springs: Casey McCardell; Big Spring: Mackenzie Brymesser.

Player of the Year: Ally Brown, Greencastle-Antrim

Coach of the Year: Aaron Burke, Waynesboro


First team

Lower Dauphin: Kaylee Stoner, Hannah Swartz; Mechanicsburg: Taylor Clark, Jordan Hertz, Maddie Hurst; Palmyra: Kayla Bonawitz; Bishop McDevitt: Alyssa Harhigh, Sophie Kehigh; Central Dauphin East; Marissa Butts.

Second team

Mechanicsburg: Erica Smiley, Lower Dauphin: Maddie Lilliock, Emily Lingle; Palmyra: Sara Boyer; Susquehanna Twp.: Kate Krawczuk; Bishop McDevitt: Kayla Strohecker; Central Dauphin East: Antonice Mason; Harrisburg: Destiny Mangus-Velez, Ebony Brown.

Honorable mention

Palmyra: Rebecca Randall; Hershey: Mikala Ande; Mechanicsburg: Kenzie Brady; Lower Dauphin: Kelly Fahringer; Bishop McDevitt: Ashley Wrabel; Central Dauphin East: Lexi Huffman.

Player of the Year: Ava Bottiglia, Lower Dauphin

Coach of the Year: Joel Schreiner, Lower Dauphin


First team

West Perry: Rebecca Gabert, Leann Gingrich, Allison Gingrich; East Pennsboro: Cailey Joyce, Madison Ernst; Trinity: Amanda Knaub, Jenna Barone; Northern York: Michaela Cotton; Milton Hershey, Autumn Beattie.

Second team

West Perry: Samantha Keller; East Pennsboro: Jackie McCrea, Kara Birosak, Natalie Persing; Northern, Elizabeth Friends, Shelby Gibb, Chloe Bartram; Trinity: Erin Meagher; Milton Hershey: Phaje Britton.

Honorable mention

West Perry: Camryn Shope; Trinity: Erin Pfeffer; Camp Hill: Morgan Morela; East Pennsboro: Saige Sufrin, Madison Peskie; Milton Hershey: Amanda Dayton.

Player of the Year: Emily Zaring, West Perry

Coach of the Year: Andy Foose, West Perry