Skip to main content

BASEBALL: 7 locals earn Mid Penn Conference First-Team selections

After winning the Mid Penn Colonial Division title, Shippensburg was honored Tuesday with a slew of nominations to the Mid Penn Conference baseball all-star teams.

Cordell Shannon and Daulton Brenize led the way, earning Co-Players of the Year honors in the Colonial Division, and Nate Rosenberry was tabbed as the division's Coach of the Year.

Shippensburg's Cole Friese and Teagan Staver were also named to the First Team along with five other locals.

In the Colonial Division, Waynesboro boasted a pair of first-teamers. Cody Cline and Austin Hanshew both earned nods, while Derek Measell was the lone first-team pick for Greencastle-Antrim.

Chambersburg had a pair earn selections to the Commonwealth Division First Team. Tristan Daywalt and Drew Betz both earned the awards, but no other Trojan was recognized as the Commonwealth Division did not select honorable mentions.

Greencastle and Ship both had a pair named to the Second Team. Blue Devils Quin Ambeault and Matt Kline and Greyhounds Damon Watkins and Nick Jacoby were both honored, as were Waynesboro's Sawyer Duffey and James Buchanan's Aaron Nagy.

Area honorable mentions in the Colonial Division were Greencastle's Myles Gayman, Kurt Hansen and Bailey Parker; Shippensburg's Noah Auman and Nate Reiner; Zach Stultz of Waynesboro; and James Buchanan sophomore Jared Pine.

Mid Penn Conference BASEBALL All-Stars

Commonwealth Division

Player of the Year — Colby Scherer, Central Dauphin; Coach of the Year — Brian Zellers, Central Dauphin


Chambersburg — Tristan Daywalt (sr., P/RF), Drew Betz (sr., P/2B); Carlisle — Billy Burger (sr., P/SS), Justin Silvious (jr., 1B); Central Dauphin — Jake Artz (sr., OF), Riley McLaughlin (sr., 3B), Aaron Gress (sr., P/DH); Cedar Cliff — Julian Bury (jr., OF), Noah Malone (sr., P/OF);Cumbarland Valley — Zachary Belansek (jr., SS); Mifflin County — Isiah Kerns (jr., 3B/1B), Max Remy (sr., SS)


Cumberland Valley — Joseph Cuomo (jr., P); Cedar Cliff — Braydon Lackey (sr., OF), Grant Breneman (so., C), Jordan Stiles (sr., 3B); Mifflin County — Payton Reesman (jr., P/1B), Hunter Wacker (sr., OF); Central Dauphin — Tony Zimmerman (sr., C/P), Gary Smith (sr., 1B); Red Land — Tyler Hodges (sr., 1B), Eric Dresser (sr., C); State College — Chris Adams (sr., SS), Brandon Raquet (sr., OF), Caleb Walls (sr., OF)

Colonial Division

Co-players of the Year — Cordell Shannon (sr., P/1B), Daulton Brenize (sr., CF), both of Shippensburg; Coach of the Year — Nate Rosenberry, Shippensburg


Waynesboro — Cody Cline (jr., 3B), Austin Hanshew (sr., 2B); Greencastle-Antrim — Derek Measell (jr., P); Shippensburg — Cole Friese (jr., 3B), Teagan Staver (jr. 3B); Big Spring — Bryce Ruth (jr., 1B), Lowell Singer (sr., P); Boiling Springs — Hunter Breon (jr., SS), Dakota Quigley (sr., 3B/P)


Greencastle-Antrim — Quin Ambeault (jr., C), Matt Kline (jr., INF/P); Waynesboro — Sawyer Duffey (sr., SS); James Buchanan — Aaron Nagy (sr., OF); Shippensburg — Damon Watkins (sr., 2B), Nick Jacoby (sr., C); Big Spring — Colby Black (jr., SS); Boiling Springs — Josh McCoy (sr., P), Nick Rosario (jr., C)


Waynesboro — Zach Stultz (sr., P); James Buchanan — Jared Pine (so., SS); Shippensburg — Noah Auman (jr., P), Nate Reiner (sr., SS); Greencastle-Antrim — Myles Gayman (jr., P/SS), Kurt Hansen (sr., CF), Bailey Parker (jr., OF); Big Spring — Scott Keiter (so., P); Boiling Springs — Travis Wickard (jr., P)

Capital Division

Player of the Year — Ben Dum, West Perry (3B/P); Coach of the Year — Jeff Sanno, West Perry


Northern York — Zach Zinn (sr., CF), Curtis Robinson (so., OF/P); East Pennsboro — Connor Yoder (jr., 1B/P), Grayson Miller (sr., C); West Perry — Ethan Lesher (jr., OF), Tregg Liebel (sr., OF/P), Scotty Messner (so., SS); Camp Hill — Jack Dunphy (jr., OF/P), Michael Hope (sr., 3B/P)


East Pennsboro — Drew Miller (jr., P/OF), Zach Wertz (jr., OF); West Perry — Trevor Dolin (sr., P); Northern York — Scott Leitholf (so., P); Steel-High — Isiah Lockette (so., P/OF), Jaqui Jenkins (jr., P/OF); Milton Hershey — Chris Santana (sr., P/IF); Camp Hill — Michael Shuster (jr., P/IF), Andrew Freedenberg (jr., P/IF)


Northern York — Nick Sacoman (jr., P), Ken McKeever (jr., SS); Camp Hill — Kyle Remig (sr., C), Mark Leach (jr., SS); East Pennsboro — Alec Shellenberger (sr., SS), Dalton Miller (fr., P/OF), Jordan McAllister (sr., 3B); Milton Hershey — Darrin Keith (sr., OF); Steel-High — Matt Pilsitz (jr., 2B/C)

Keystone Division

Player of the Year — Jeff Allen, Mechanicsburg (P); Coach of the Year — Clay McCallister, Mechanicsburg


Palmyra — Bobby Dorta (sr., P/INF); Lower Dauphin — Blair Lewis (sr., P/INF), Tyler Friedrich (jr., C); Mechanicsburg — Hayden Seig (jr., P/1B), Josh Herring (jr., OF); Bishop McDevitt — Joe Mione (jr., P/OF); Susquehanna Twp. — Chris Ciotti (jr., CF), Jake Pae (jr., C); Middletown — Nathan Ocker (sr., P/SS), Zack Sims (sr., P/SS)


Palmyra — Evan Hallowell (jr., OF); Lower Dauphin — Michael Geesaman (so., OF); Susquehanna Twp. — Brett Floyd (sr., P); Mechanicsburg — Marc Hershey (sr., IF), Matt Cody (jr., IF); Bishop McDevitt — John Brubaker (sr., P/OF), Dylan Spiegel (sr., IF), Joey Wrabel (sr., SS); Middletown — Brett Altlad (sr., OF), Ethan Kell (sr., C); Hershey — Gavin Hellman (sr., P/IF); CD East — Quinton Heckard (jr., P/IF), Justin Cherry (sr., P)


Bishop McDevitt — Marcus Gray (sr., OF), Cole Gerula (jr., IF); Palmyra — Trevor Gill (sr., P); Lower Dauphin — Tyler Roman (jr., P), Cole Backenstoke (sr., SS/P); Mechanicsburg — Eric Herbein (jr., SS), Codi Shatzer (sr., C); Susquehanna Twp. — Danny Warshawsky (jr., P); Middetown — Kyle Finsterbush (jr., C); Hershey — Ryan Sullivan (jr., 2B); CD East — Stephen McInturrf (jr., INF), Andy Pineda (jr., C)