Skip to main content

YAIAA Basketball sportsmanship award winners

The York chapter of PIAA basketball officials voted to recognize the Susquehannock girls and Bermudian Springs boys basketball programs, as the 2013-14 Gretchen Wolf Swartz Sportsmanship Award winners.

The award, presented annually since 2001, is in recognition of season-long conduct of players, coaches, fans, faculty, coaches, students, managers and cheerleaders from junior high through the varsity level.

It is the second straight season and seventh time in the awards' 14-year history that Susquehannock earned the award in girls, and the sixth time the acknowledgement went to the Bermudian boys.

Gretchen Wolf Swartz was a York County basketball official from 1981 to 1995. Following her untimely death from leukemia in 1997, her fellow officials created the memorial team awards and a scholarship fund to promote and honor the sportsmanship she so effectively displayed.

In May, the Gretchen Wolf Swartz Scholarship Fund’s board of directors will award two $7,500 scholarships – one to a senior from each winning program – and two new $2,500 scholarships – to the senior runner-up from each program. Applicants can be players, team managers or cheerleaders, but they must be seniors.

Susquehannock's Leah Deter and boys' player Tim Frey earned the scholarships last season.